picture-074.jpg

The farmhouse is lonely without me.

And my old dog is gone from the door;

God sent me to die in the back streets

And I can’t go home anymore. 

I’m in love with this overdone city,

Though it’s dirty and falling apart;

It reminds me of stories at bedtime,

And the street sounds hurt my heart. 

I go out for a fix after midnight,

And the fix that I’m after is fame,

So I head for a bar in the back streets

Where everyone knows my name. 

It’s noisy and dirty and drunken,

But nobody there drinks alone-

The bartenders buy me my vodka,

And the hookers cry at my poems. 

My hearth beats faster and faster,

And I say to the drunk by the door-

“I’m like you, my life’s a disaster, And I can’t go home anymore.” 

Oh, the farmhouse is lonely without me,

And my old dog is gone from the door;

God sent me to die in the back streets

And I can’t go home anymore.

   

  • Sergei Esenin